Mar 4, 2024

U of T to confer honorary degrees on 11 academic, business and community leaders

Grid of honorary degree recipients
From left to right, starting at top row: Blake Goldring, Joannah Lawson, Brian Lawson and Bruce Kuwabara; Harold Hongju Koh, Jane Corkin, Patrick Awuah and Rosemary Sadlier; Zanana Akande, Wilton Littlechild and Sarah Polley
By Mariam Matti

Joannah and Brian Lawson are among the 11 people who will receive honorary degrees from the University of Toronto this year and will address graduating students at convocation ceremonies in the spring or fall. 

“The dedication, vision and generosity of these extraordinary leaders are an inspiration to all members of the University of Toronto community," said U of T President Meric Gertler

“I'm looking forward to celebrating their remarkable achievements at our convocation ceremonies this year.”

Learn more about the Lawsons' contributions, and view the full list of U of T honorary degree recipients for 2024.